Sign-up to CN e-news and more...  click here

2017 CN Awards - The winners

Awards Hori Banner 2017 V3

We are delighted to announce the CN Awards 2017 winners. Thank you to the readers that took the time to nominate their colleagues for an Award, those that voted and, of course, the companies that have sponsored a specific Award – without all of which this year's CN Awards would not have been such a great success.

And the winners are...

The Geoff Simmonett 'Commitment to Patient Care' Award

Mhairi Donald
Macmillan Consultant Dietitian, Sussex Cancer Centre, Royal Sussex County Hospital, Brighton

Kindly sponsored by Nutricia Homeward Nursing Service
The Nutricia Homeward Nursing Service is the largest dedicated enteral nursing service in the UK. It has been supporting enterally fed community patients for more than 15 years.

Social Media Personality of the Year

The Rooted Project
Helen West & Rosie Saunt, Dietitans, The Rooted Project

Paediatric Nutrition Professional of the Year

Rachael Brandreth
Specialist Children's Dietitian for Weight Management, Royal Cornwall Hospitals Trust

Kindly sponsored by Nutricia Early Life Nutrition
Nutricia Early Life Nutrition are delighted to sponsor the award for 'Paediatric Nutrition Professional of the Year'. For further information please visit:

Nutrition Resource of the Year

MyTube Website

Clinical Nutrition Professional of the Year

Professor David Sanders
Professor of Gastroenterology and Consultant Gastroenterologist, Royal Hallamshire Hospital & the University of Sheffield

yakultlogo17Kindly sponsored by Yakult

Yakult is delighted to sponsor the 2017 CN Award for 'Clinical Nutrition Professional of the Year'.
For free educational and research information visit:

Student of the Year

Rosie Martin
Student Dietitian (C placement), Wishaw General Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

Kindly sponsored by nutrinovo
nutrinovo, the company behind the innovative 'ProSource' range of products, is delighted to be sponsoring the CN Award for 'Student of the Year' – helping to support the nutrition professionals of the future.

New Product of the Year

Fortini Compact Multi Fibre
Nutricia Medical -

Community Nutrition Professional of the Year

Michelle Dewar
Team Leader – Nutrition & Wellbeing Team, Hertfordshire Independent Living Service

Kindly sponsored by Alflorex®AlflorexPB web logo

The 35624 strain in Alflorex® was clinically studied in IBS patients and shown to manage symptoms including abdominal pain, bloating and changes in bowel habit.

CN Writer of the Year

Sian Porter
Freelance Consultant Dietitian

Outstanding Achievement Award

Vera Todorovic
Consultant Dietitian, PENG

Kindly sponsored by Abbottabbott

Abbott's nutrition business partners with healthcare professionals worldwide to offer the most trusted names in nutrition products for every stage of life.

Congratulations to all the 2017 CN Award winners. To read what the winners had to say when finding out about winning a CN Award, click here.